Six Feet Under and Education

Posted: January 30, 2007 in Me things

I got Mr. Jazz the five seasons of Six Feet Under for Christmas, and we recently started watching them (ok, ok, I sorta got it for me too). I have fallen under the spell. It’s a great show.

And it reminded me that for the longest time I wanted to be an embalmer. Yes, seriously. The whole idea of fixing up dead people so they’d “last” was totally fascinating to me – still is actually, even though I think it’s sort of pointless and I’ll get rid of my own body in a much more expeditious fashion by giving it to a med school for the kids to work on.

I think one of the main reasons I never did go to school to learn the job, was that I was afraid it would scare people off. I never did have the knack of making too many friends, so I could imagine being at a party, someone asks what I do, I answer and they just sorta smile weakly and wander off to chat with a more “normal” person. I was desperate enough back then to not want to be seen as a wierdo, though the shock value of such a job… wow! (insert evil cackle)

So instead I went to university and got a BA in translation – rather than studying medieval history, which I loved with a passion bacause translation was much more sensible if I actualy wanted to be able to eat and have a roof over my head. I came to Montreal to study Germain at McGill and freelanced until I realized just how mind numbingly boring a job it is. And stopped school – not really knowing what the point of another pretty much useless BA would be.

And I ended up working in a jewlery shop and they took me to their office as a secretary and somehow or other I ended up working as a secret… oops Administrative Assistant* in one office or another since.

Moral of the story: Just go ahead and embalm the fuckers.

* A perfect case of giving someone a title so they can actually feel good about their jobs.

Comments
  1. Ian Lidster says:

    Hey — somebody has to embalm, I guess, and there is always a client base. Meanwhile, you have been tagged, so if you want to check my blog and take part, please feel welcome to do so.Cheers,Ian

  2. Jazz says:

    Yep Ian, you never run out of clients… Is that the 6 weird things meme that’s going around? Oh well, I guess I have at least one now! LOL

  3. ticknart says:

    I knew this girl who was going to school to be a mortician. She said her goal in life was to make the dead pretty.I always liked that about her.

  4. Did you get the complete series box set? Because that’s a sick and awesome design for it.

  5. choochoo says:

    You know, loads of people have been fixing up deads so that they’d last (or for other reasons) without being embalmers. Go with your dreams!

  6. Jazz says:

    Ticknart – making the dead pretty. I like that…Snay – Yep the box set. And de design is indeed awesome, plus you get tow CDs of the show’s music.Chooch – Go with your dreams… yeah well, you live and fuck up and learn.

Leave a Reply

