Busy busy

Posted: February 14, 2007 in bits and pieces

Work is hell right now, so in the honour of Valentine’s day – that most creepy* of holidays, I bring you this post from Toni’s blog. These are entries to a Washington Post competition asking for a rhyme with the most romantic first line but the least romantic second line.

I also want to wish my great friend Slébinette (name changed to protect the innocent), who has the great “fortune” of having been born today, a happy birthday despite the V-day madness. Love you muchly sweetheart! Feel free to wish her a happy B-day and send her nasty chocolate in a fluffy beribbonned box.
* Seriously. I find V-day creepy. The day to show your lover you love him/her. Shouldn’t you be doing that all the time? And the whole red candy and chocolate thing… And the polarization between people who are depressed as hell because they’re single on V-day and the heart shaped chocolate box buyers…. Why does anyone care about a 100% fabricated holiday. Creepy I tell you!
( photo from stockphoto – but I bet you guessed that)
Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Bonne fête Bobinette chérie: plus t’avances, plus on te connait et c’est un perpétuel délice ainsi qu’un privilège de compter parmi tes amis. Amour et ticoeurs rouges ;-)Mr. Jazz

  2. Anonymous says:

    Trop fins que vous êtes! is a dash bobinfêtin amhavin’! danku der frienz ! Slébonovitch XOXOXOXOXOXO

  3. Foxtrot says:

    Bonne fete bobinette 🙂 Je te souhaite une tres belle journee meme si tu dois la partager avec la Saint-Valentin… povre toi 😉 est-ce que ca existe des cartes de bonne Saint-Valentin/anniversaire? Gros bisous!

  4. Ian Lidster says:

    I agree with you about Valentine’s Day’s (shortened to initials, it becomes VD — hmm) and its commerciality. But, what the hell, Happy Valentine’s Day to you regardless, my friend.Ian

  5. Jazz says:

    Mr Jazz/Foxtrot – thanks for the wishes.Slébinovitch – as incoherent as usual. Damn’ I love you girl.Ian – Ok, well… grumble grumble. Happy VD to you too!

  6. Lhianon says:

    Happy Valentines day!And, A very happy birthday to your friend!!

  7. Jazz says:

    Lhia – Thanks much!

  8. Jill says:

    Totally agree with you, but that doesn’t stop me from taking advantage of the post-Valentine’s Day half-price sales on chocolate. I can hardly wait until tomorrow on godiva.com. Hopefully I won’t pee my pants.

  9. Jazz says:

    Jill – So long as it’s on sale, it’s all good. I mean, hell, it’s chocolate! Waddaya gonna do?

  10. Evil Spock says:

    My blog probably didn’t help matters then, eh? Happy V-day!

  11. Jocelyn says:

    Thank you, as usual, for being the voice of reason. I sooooooooo hate these manufactured holidays. And Groom and I have firmly agreed that everyday is LUURRRVVEE day. But we are using it as an excuse to have steaks tonight, so I’m not completely guilt free.

  12. Jazz says:

    Evil Spock – Your blog creeped me right out… very much in keeping with VD actually.Jocelyn – It’s ok so long as you use it as an excuse for something and not because it’s LUUUUURVE day. You have my blessing, go eat steak.

  13. Dan says:

    The day to show your lover you love him/her. Shouldn’t you be doing that all the time?Of course you should!And having said that, oh what the hell … Happy Valentine’s Day! 🙂

  14. Whoa different language stuff going on here. I loved those!

Leave a Reply

