How fucked is it…

Posted: May 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

 .
That I am incapable of packing?

I used to leave for two weeks with a gym bag. A month with a small back pack.

Now I’m leaving for around two weeks in France – where lets face it, I can buy toothpaste or a t-shirt if I need them – and having an anxiety attack about it.  I no longer pack light. Hell, I pretty much take everything but my bed. What the fuck!!! Get over it.

I just went outside to chillax a bit, It reeks (in a good way) of lilac out there. There’s a word in French – embaumer (which also means, ironically, ‘to embalm’ – lets not go there), but I can’t for the life of me find the English equivalent.

OK, back to the suitcase.

Edited to add: Plus. PLUS!  Whenever I go on vacation I have to clean. I vacuum, I dust, I put stuff away. Who the hell will see that the dust bunnies have been wrestled into submission?  I don’t have a problem with breeding dust bunnies when I’m home, why on earth would they bother me when I’m not?

So what did I do yesterday? On top of tearing my hair out packing. I vacuumed, I cleaned, I did a load of laundry. That’s just so fucking anal.

But now, I’m done and I will be gone.
.

Comments
  1. Gaelyn says:

    I never pack until the last minute. However I start making lists months in advance. And then always take too much shit. Why not just take empty luggage and fill it when you get there?Have a great time!

  2. Kay says:

    oh fun! 🙂 and I hear ya on the packing… as they say, it's not just our butts that get bigger as we get older…Enjoy the trip!

  3. Jocelyn says:

    Maybe "perfume" (as in the pleasant scent of the lilacs being the perfume of the lilacs?).I am with you on being aghast at how much more I need to take along when I travel–and at new feelings of anxiety before travel. Aging is weirdass shit.

  4. Jazz says:

    Gaelyn – I'd love to do that, 'cept every time I shopped for clothes in France I ended up traumatized. An XL T shirt was smaller than my arm.Kay – Yeah, my luggage keeps getting bigger too.Joce – The air was perfumed with lilacs. And yes, aging IS weirdass shit.

  5. XUP says:

    Oh ya, the "reek" thing. I'd almost forgotten about that. I did think of a couple of other words aside from odiferous — aromatic and redolent. Do any of those work for you? Have a great trip.

  6. Jazz says:

    XUP – Redolent! Yes! I love that word. The air was redolent of lilacs.

  7. Suldog says:

    Well, here's hoping you have a safe trip and a fun one. I'm still able to just throw stuff into a carry on and be on my way, no matter how long the trip. Maybe it's a guy thing.

  8. I do serious pre-trip cleaning, too. Not because I care how the house looks while I'm gone but because I can't stand coming home to a messy house.

  9. lime says:

    if you're like me you clean because there is nothing so depressing as going on vacation and coming home to a mess that needs to be cleaned.do have a wonderful time.

  10. e says:

    I wish I was going, too…I've been struggling to plan a trip there for months…I also clean before I go anywhere…

  11. VioletSky says:

    I clean before I go away just in case I don't come back.That could be so embarrassing. Couldn't it?But you will come back, with tales galore! Have a great time!

  12. Voyager says:

    Have a wonderful vacation. Paris in spring…I am so envious. V.

  13. Dx says:

    Have a great time away BUT did you remember to switch the vacuum cleaner off before you left? Or did you take it with you?

Leave a Reply

