Saturday and Sunday…

Posted: August 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

Actually, I’m surprised I’ve made it through a whole week of this. Not sure I’ll make it through the whole month, but we’ll see. There are only so many completely inane pictures a person can take before losing interest in the whole project… But nevertheless, I’m hanging on.

Saturday Mr. Jazz and I went to the Organic Farmers Market in Val David. I love this house on the main street of the village.

The market at 9:00 am  – opening time. Yes I was there at 9:00, which means I got up pretty much in the middle of the night as far as I’m concerned. Within an hour it’ll be jam-packed.

Lovely fresh veggies

And berries

And waffles.  I never understood the whole waffle thing until I tasted a real Belgian waffle made with pearl sugar. The juxtaposition of the batter with the crunchiness of the not quite melted sugar is absolutely divine!


Sunday’s pic: A hummingbird at the cottage.  Zoomed in 40 times or so.  She was actually chasing away chickadees, who wanted nothing to do with her nectar, but there you go. Aggressive little thing she is.

Comments
  1. XUP says:

    The waffle and the eggplant photos are really good. Really good. The carrots?Someone needs to find a new way to display them. The waffle in the sunshine is especially delicious-looking. And I don’t know how you got a hummingbird to sit still.

    • Jazz says:

      Hummers don’t move all the time. Despite rumours to the contrary, they actually spend quite a bit of time perching. If I were a hummingbird, I’d perch on a waffle. Yes I would.

  2. Mr. Jazz says:

    Beautiful pics, especially that handsome guy walking towards the market…

  3. Suldog says:

    Whether you think them inane or not, I love the pics. The bunches of carrots, especially, with their amazing colors. Keep ’em coming!

  4. paula says:

    Man, that grub–fresh and waffled!–looks good! Yeah, not inane to me either, but I understand. Oh, and I LOL at the comment about if you were a humming bird–Hee!

  5. geewits says:

    Yummy pics! Last August at Mom’s place in the mountains we’d spend all day on the porch watching the hummingbird wars. There’s always the one bird that claims ownership of the feeder and then spends all day long “protecting” it. He would only share it with his girlfriend. If only his tiny little bird brain had figured out that there was plenty for everyone, he could have had a far more restful day.

  6. mrwriteon says:

    We always go to the market for 9 a.m. and it’s my favorite Saturday pastime — well, almost favorite, depending on the Saturday. And Belgian waffles will always take me back to a rainy day in Brussels.

  7. I love the brick work on that house.

    Eggplants have such a voluptuous look about them.

  8. choochoo says:

    there’s one of them market things around here somewhere too. I wanna go. Will hawl mister there one of these days.

  9. Jocelyn says:

    Okay, here’s your true calling in life: taking pictures of fruits and vegetables. They’re almost sexual, the way you’ve depicted them. It’s your talent!

  10. lime says:

    now that little building has personality and soul! the pictures from the market are making me so hungry too. yeah i better go cook something.

Leave a Reply

