Westmount Square

Posted: August 11, 2010 in Uncategorized

I work close to Westmount Square, one of those ugly ass late sixties monstrosities of glass and steel. I’m not against modern architecture, some buildings are quite lovely actually, but yeah, I don’t think this one is particularly nice, rather ugly actually. But what the hell do I know. Actually it’s complex of four towers, two of which are residential. Why anyone would want to live there is beyond me, but seeing as it’s an expensive place to live, I’m sure there are plenty of takers. “Prestigious” addresses always have lots of takers.

The bottom is given over to boutiques, art galleries and a food fair – where my beloved Slam Bar resides. For this, I love Westmount Square. Oh, and for the “ladies who lunch who go slumming in the food fair” blog fodder.

It’s claim to fame? It was designed by architect Ludwig Mies van der Rohe. This is, apparently, something to be proud about. Again, what the hell do I know.

It’s claim to infamy? (at least as far as I’m concerned). It creates a hideous wind tunnel coming down from Mount Royal. In summer it’s a cool even cold wind. In winter it’s a frigid wind. Hellish really, making the corner of Greene and St-Catherine the coldest street corner of Montreal.  Well, hellish, if your idea of hell is standing on a street corner with -30 degree winds pummeling you for all eternity. Naked. And no, I’ve never been naked on that corner, but we’re talking hell here, so…

Comments
  1. geewits says:

    That’s not as bad as some really horrible 60’s and 70’s buildings I’ve seen. I remember looking out the cab window in NYC and seeing some real monstrosities and wondering what sort of lovely old buildings they had replaced.

  2. Guillaume says:

    Hey there, checking how you are doing here. I don’t go to Westmount very often. I’m more of an East side of Montreal guy.

    And I need to change my blogroll so you can be on it again.

  3. Rachel says:

    I think I walked through that wind tunnel once. The building looks faintly familiar.

  4. XUP says:

    I just dislike buildings that are mostly glass — they’re just architectural parasites, reflecting the beauty of the buildings around them without adding any of their own. But what do I know. I think we’d better check with Violetsky to see if we’re supposed to like these buildings.

  5. Jazz says:

    Geewits – granted there are much worse buildings.

    Guillaume – I haven’t the choice, since I work in Westmount.

    Rachel – You should come to Montreal more often.

    XUP – Violetsky would know. Architectural parasites. I like that.

  6. paula says:

    As for the photos–Nice! I love that you don’t show any horizon/ground. Makes the pics visually graphic.

  7. Jeaux says:

    I think one of Dante’s accommodations in hell features ice. I don’t remember what sin lands you there. Maybe being hotheaded.

    I like the buildings… they reflect the sky and that’s always groovy.

  8. Jazz says:

    Paula – Thanks!

    Jeaux – Whatever it is, I really need to avoid it like the plague.

  9. Jocelyn says:

    I LOVE seeing where you work…and so want to walk into each place you mention. I’ve experienced the wind tunnel thing, too, in downtown Minneapolis when I used to work there. Sure can blow a skirt up to your ears, eh?

  10. lime says:

    it does look imposing and soulless.

  11. Jazz says:

    Joce – Yeah, it can… so come to Montreal and I’ll show you my world. Too bad Montreal isn’t in Turkey!

    Lime – imposing and soulless. Yes. Exactly.

Leave a Reply

