Full moon, i think…

Posted: August 25, 2010 in Uncategorized

Last night, when Mr. Jazz said, “Hey, looks like it’s the full moon!”, I thought, “there’s my picture!”

So I pulled out the camera and took a picture. Crappy. Vague sky – it wasn’t quite dark, blotches of light in windows. Crappy pic all around.

So I put it on the “starry sky” setting. The problem with this of course is that the exposure varies between 15 and 60 seconds. Where the camera has to be still. Blurry picture of smooshy light. Meh.

In his infinite wisdom (don’t you like infinite wisdom?) Mr. Jazz hauled out his tripod. Would I have ever thought of that? Course not.

Camera on tripod, picture taken, it was all white and bright, way to much exposure. Shit. I dialed it down to 15 seconds but by then the moon in the alleyway was behind an electrical pole.

Epic fail on that one.

So, I figured I’d post these. Last weekend I was dicking around with the same setting taking pics of the moon and started zipping the camera around. My goal is to be able to one day write my name with the moon… (yeah, that’s gonna happen)

This morning at 3:00 I got up to pee and the moon was lighting up the house. I went onto the balcony to have a look, clouds had started rolling in by then, but it looked quite cool.

This one even sports a star, though I don’t know what that red spot is – probably a light between the tree leaves.

Taking pictures at 3:00 am, there’s a first. I wonder what I’d resort to if I had to do this for another month….

Comments
  1. Em says:

    LOL…the first two look a lot like my attempts at moon photos….but your last two are beautiful.

  2. paula says:

    I like the idea of writing your name with the moon! Hee! Well, it was all worth the effort cuz those latter photos are lovely!

  3. geogypsy says:

    I love your moon drawings. I’ve thought about writing my name with that light too. I just recently got my first good moon shot, and yes, using a tripod and playing with a lot of settings I’m still learning. Tis fun to play.

    I’m going to try and follow you again on your new blog and hope it doesn’t take over my dashboard reading list.

  4. geewits says:

    This is really bizarre. Monday night when I was watering the flowers I was looking at the moon and thought about getting my tripod and doing a long exposure. But I was too lazy.
    Wite your name with moon. I love that.

  5. XUP says:

    Cool. Watawa Life had a really nice photo of the full moon on his blog on Tuesday, too.

  6. Jazz says:

    Paula – I have wierd goals. I am also incapable of spelling weird right the first time.

    Geogypsy – One thing I’ve picked up this month, I’ve realized I like hunting for and taking pictures.

    Geewits – you are entering… the twilight zone.

    XUP – Oh, I’ll have to go check that out!

  7. Guillaume says:

    The last two pics are really great. I love full moons. In the right environment they make for really atmospheric photos.

  8. mrwriteon says:

    I believe you have the same moon we have. Love your moon writing pics. They are very cool. I was actually debating a moon picture first thing this morning when it was still dark, but lethargy precluded me hauling out my camera.

  9. Actually, those are cool – they look like abstract neon art. But it’s easier to get moon photos early in the evening while the sky is partially light. I took the photo at the footer of my blog about 6pm.

  10. Jocelyn says:

    Ironically, the SECOND I was reading about Mr. Jazz suggesting the tripod, my husband walked past me, holding our tripod. He’s now out here on the terrace, in the pitch dark, setting up a picture of the castle. You guys are meant to meet.

Leave a Reply

