The kids are back in town…

Posted: August 27, 2010 in Uncategorized

Ugh. After a lovely summer today is my last day of freedom. School starts up at Westmount High just across the street (and across the province) Monday.

For years back to school meant nostalgia for me.

No more.

Now it means busses full of loud, obnoxious teens.

The food fair overrun and crowded and loud, loud, loud, with really long lineups at the Thai place. Thankfully they’re not into salads at that age, so there aren’t too many extra people at the Slam Bar.

It means screaming and yelling.

It means pushing and shoving.

It means I’m obviously getting old because damned if I don’t loathe them all with a vengeance. No. I don’t want to be understanding. On the plus side, it will make for some ranting later in the year. Blog fodder is always good.

Maybe George was fooling himself. Maybe old people always fooled themselves, pretending that the world was going to hell in a handcart because it was easier than admitting they were being left behind, that the future was pulling away from the beach, and that they were standing on their little island bidding it good riddance, knowing in their heart of hearts that there was nothing left for them to do but sit around on the shingle waiting for the big diseases to come out of the undergrowth.

(A spot of bother, Mark Haddon)

Comments
  1. geogypsy says:

    I wouldn’t want to live so near a school. Children are wonderful, especially when someone elses. I enjoy them all summer, and am glad they are now headed back to school. Good luck with this.

  2. Jocelyn says:

    I actually think I need to apologize for giving birth to what will become Two More Teenagers. ‘Cause, sister? I agree that they are the most annoying beings on the planet, outranking even donkeys.

  3. XUP says:

    You should stand out on your lawn in your housecoat Monday morning shaking a stick! These are the kids that are going to be the movers and shakers and doctors and dentists and pharmacists and homecare workers everyone else that will have to look after us when we’re old. You might not want to burn too many bridges…that’s my philosophy anyway.

  4. geewits says:

    I guess that’s where suburbs and cities are the exact oppsite. I celebrate school starting so I don’t have to deal with teen drivers during the day. There always seems to be half as much traffic during the school year.

  5. Rachel says:

    OMG what? Summer is over already? F@#%! What the hell?

    That means I gotta deal with all the high school traffic jams on my way to work in the morning. which means getting out of the house earlier. which means waking up before dawn. F@#%.

  6. Guillaume says:

    I am glad I am not starting school myself. For once and probably until I have kids, I will skip the back to school time. That said, I think my mind still runs on the school calendar. We all do. I guess it is something that haunts us all our life, because I blogged about school recently:

    http://vraiefiction.blogspot.com/2010/08/question-existentielle-17.html

    http://vraiefiction.blogspot.com/2010/08/cette-rentree-scolaire-que-je-ne-vivrai.html

  7. I understand I had seven teenagers in my house yesterday. Seven.

  8. G says:

    The really wee ones are the worst; at playtime it sounds like they are knifing and burning each other to death. I lived next to a school and for the first couple of weeks I was constantly poised to phone the police.

  9. Jazz says:

    Saw – I shudder at the thought.

    G – Other than the high school across from where I work, there’s an elementary school down the block from where I live. The few times I’m off work during the day, I’m always amazed by the amount of noise they can make. The noise level seems to be inversely proportional to their size at that age.

  10. Warty Mammal says:

    Gaaaah! Has it been a year or two since I’ve read blogs? I’m so glad you left a forwarding address. THAT’S how far behind I am.

Leave a Reply

