Saturday at the cottage

Posted: October 5, 2010 in Uncategorized

It was a lovely cool, perfect fall day. More than welcome after a week of grey skies and rain, so we decided to take a walk up to Lovers Leap (yeah, I know, what a ridiculous and ever so conventional name). But the leaves had turned, next week we’ll be on vacation checking out the leaves in Maine instead, so it was now or never…

Hence, the obligatory picture post. You’re welcome Geewits.

The forest is carpeted with leaves that have already given up…

Fall camo in Quebec. Orange/red jeans with a green jacket

The obligatory and way overdone shadow pic

I love fungus. I should have put my hand on it for comparison purposes, it was huge…

and all  creamy white underneath

The view from Lover’s Leap. It’s well worth the climb

Sitting on the edge of the rock. It’s a long way down.

Yours truly and camouflage guy.

A teeny tiny lake – the one you see to the right of the pic of the view from the Leap.

Leaves on our lake…

And just in case you need a shot of colour…

Comments
  1. Suldog says:

    Lovely shots. I’m looking forward to seeing similar color down in our neck of the woods in a week or ten days!

  2. geogypsy says:

    Such a welcome bright wake up to my eyes. Very gray and rainy here today. Yet our Aspen glow gold like your multi-colors. I almost missed Mr Jazz with his stylish camo. 😉 A beautiful place for a walk, even if rather cliche. Hope you had some “fun” at the top.

  3. mrwriteon says:

    I enjoyed my walk in the forest with you both. You do get more marvelous colors in the fall. Our forests are heavy duty evergreen with just a few deciduous trees, so they’re a bit darker and drearier.

  4. pinklea says:

    Yep, you Easterners get the beautiful, sharp fall colours, while we Wet Coasters get – well, no snow in the winter. (Generally. Except for the winter of 2008. That basically shut down Vancouver. I actually went out and bought snow tires after that year’s unusual snowfest.)

    Anyway, that may be a fair trade-off, though I’d still love to live amongst all that colour for a few weeks a year. Thanks for the gorgeous photos!

  5. Jocelyn says:

    Noodle, you seriously are a talented photographer! The color saturation in each of these has me pining for home and changing leaves and my favorite month of the year. Thanks, though, for letting me feel I’ve just had a few minutes in North America! Beautiful.

  6. Jazz says:

    Suldog – And I’m leaving for Maine on Friday, so I’ll get them all over again.

    Gaelyn – Yes, it is rather cliché isn’t it, the Northern leaves. But beautiful all the same.

    Ian – Yep, it’s the only thing I like about fall – and it lasts all of a couple of weeks. I’m ready for summer again

    Pink – no snow in the winter is a damn good thing. The amount of snow and months of snow we get are a steep price to pay for two weeks of pretty.

    Joce – Thanks, oh, and check out the previous post – I mentioned you in the interview. You’re likely on Eddie’s list by now.

  7. Guillaume says:

    Stunning pictures, they really make me feel homesick. I thought nature was nice here today, as it was showing its colours on a sunny Autumn day. But this is nothing compared to that! I miss Québec terribly now. You got to admit, Autumn is a beautiful season, especially in October.

    And on a side note, I blogged about mushrooms myself recently.

  8. Jazz says:

    Guillaume – I like fall in Quebec for the two weeks the leaves are like that. Like I said to Pinklea, the winter seems a high price to pay for two weeks of pretty.

  9. geewits says:

    Those are really gorgeous! Thanks for a nice relaxing wonderful post. My busy brain went all peaceful there for a few minutes.

  10. Warty Mammal says:

    Just beautiful! I feel slightly less homicidal now.

  11. Dani says:

    The magical thing about Lover’s Leap is that it not only feels like you’re the only one who knows about it, but that you are the only human being for MILES. A very primal feeling while being incredibly beautiful! So neat to see you up there!

  12. lime says:

    these pictures are absolutely GORGEOUS! oh how i love fall!

Leave a Reply

