Apologies

Posted: November 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

I hereby wish to apologize to all those adults I annoyed the hell out of when I was a teenager, and I must have annoyed a lot of them. Karma is a bitch and she saw fit to get me a job across the street from a high school, ensuring I have a total teen immersion experience every day.

Come lunch time,  every possible place to eat is overrun by the students. They push, they shove, they’re loud, they’re obnoxious, they’re incredibly annoying. They’re like a plague of locusts, overrunning everything in their path.

Most often I just feel like beating them all into submission – which I suppose makes Karma smile and plot ever more crappy stuff for me to endure.

And yes, I know if you’re the parent of a teen yours are not like that at all. Yours are all sunlight and joy. Or something.

Comments
  1. Em says:

    Uh huh, my teenagers are total sunlight and joy. For about 6 minutes each and every day. That other 23 hours and 54 minutes, well we don’t need to talk about those.

    But I have heard horror stories about the high school cafeteria from all three of our kids. Overcrowding. Not enough tables for all the kids. So many kids in line that the lunch time is over before some kids even get their food. I know my kids were in there fighting for every morsel and for that elusive chance to share a chair with another kid cause two-to-a-seat was the only way for most of them to sit. Of course, they had to hope it was a day when they got to eat lunch at lunch time. If it was a day when they had an early lunch wave, they were in the cafeteria before 10:30! Who was hungry that early?

    It just might be time for schools to reconsider how we do lunch. And yes, I’m a teacher, so I know of which I speak. It seems to be the least kid-friendly part of the day. Given that, is it any wonder that the adults in the room are afraid???

  2. geogypsy says:

    Life’s a bitch, and then there’s Karma.

  3. geewits says:

    Can you eat in a bar or pub? Or do Montreal bars allow teens? Some bars have really good food.

  4. Jazz says:

    Em – well obviously their school doesn’t do lunch to well (if at all) because there isn’t a place to eat that’s not overrun by them

    Gaelyn – And she too is a bitch

    Geewits – There aren’t any bars that are open at 1:00 within walking distance. But if there were they’d probably allow the little heathens in just to annoy me, even though they’re not allowed to.

  5. Gnightgirl says:

    1. First I’d like to say, Well, hell. I’ve been wondering why your blog wasn’t highlighted in my reader, and have just now realized I never updated the link.

    2. That’s kind of exciting for me, as now I know I have a gob of good reading to catch up on.

    3. I’m 50/50 on the teen thing. I’ve muddled through my son and his buddies, and we made it out alive. Ask me for advice, and I got nothing, not a single damned piece of advice, I have no idea how they’re alive now. Yet, having just had them all back into my house now that they’re 24 years old, GOD I MISSED THEM.

  6. Suldog says:

    Yeah, I was a shit when I was a teenager. At the time, I thought I was too cool to be bothered with social niceties. Now I know I was just a jerk.

    (That’s not to say I’m completely wonderful now, of course. Maybe another 35 years down the line I’ll realize I hadn’t improved at all…)

  7. Val Erde says:

    Have never had kids, but if I had (have had kids) they would have been menaces. Almost certainly. I was a horrible teen.

  8. lime says:

    my teens have driven me to go back to my own mother and thank her for allowing me to live to adulthood and ask her secret in self control.

Leave a Reply

