Another Cottage Vignette*

Posted: November 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

* Brought to you by: NOVEMBER

Friday night we had dinner in town. ‘Twas loverly it was. Good friends, good food, good wine (just a little) and then up to the cottage, where we arrived about midnight.

An ok hour to arrive home after dinner out with friends, no?

To a cottage, which was unheated all week.

In November.

Yeah.

Mr.  Jazz, trooper that he is just dived into the bed. Nekkid no less. God I envy people who have enough body heat to keep them warm in such circumstances. NEKKID!!! Even now, I shudder just thinking about it.  He said he’d warm up my place, dear man.

So I waited an hour, watching Food TV, figuring I’d watch What Not to Wear when it came on. But what did I get? A stupid “documentary” on the stupid prince made before he decided to marry that stupid girl and give her his mom’s stupid ring which make all the media sigh in happiness at the stupid “romanticism” of it all and I’m totally off subject here.

But seriously, an old show on Willie instead of What Not to Wear? That is so wrong.

So I went to bed.

The boy, he was sound asleep in the icebox, I didn’t have the heart to wake him and take the warm spot.

So I lay me down to sleep, in my sweatpants, socks and long sleeved T, the cold of the mattress creeping into my very marrow, shivering enough to simulate one  of those vibrating beds they used to have in cheap motels…

…and wondering, “Where the hell are those damn hot flashes when you need them!”


Comments
  1. alison says:

    What not to wear? How about a ring that was previously worn by a woman who was cheated on almost from the moment she got married, had an unhappy marriage, a bad divorce and then died tragically. Not really romantic at all, William.

    • Jazz says:

      Huh, you know, I the french version of my blog, I noted exactly that. Considering Di’s story, I’m not sure I would want that ring as a symbol of endless love… We are on the same wavelength in different languages.

  2. geewits says:

    I would have loved that! I love, love, love sleeping in a cold room. It has been in the 80’s so far this week and I was hot all night last night even with the AC on 73. We’ll get a cold front Wednesday night and I can’t wait!

    • Jazz says:

      I have no problem sleeping in a cold room. It’s when the mattress is cold through and through that I have problems. It takes forever for a mattress to warm up to room temperature – even with a live body on it.

  3. geogypsy says:

    Nekkid probably would have been warmer than clothes, especially when Mr Jazz shared his heat. But rather a drag to stay in an unheated cottage in November.

    Love your style!

  4. Rachel says:

    I always take a superhot bath right before bed in the winter: that way my overheated body wont feel the cold bed, and it will heat up the bed while I fall asleep. Nothing worse than going to bed frigid.

    as to the ring, I kinda agree on the iffy-ness of the circumstances. it probably would have been better to present it to kate as a gift of some sort, rather than tying it into their marriage! as in “this was my mum’s ring, and she loved it very much, despite everything, and I think she would ahve wanted you to ahve it. besides it looks beautiful on you.” A love-gift instead of a marriage gift.

    • Jazz says:

      There is definitely a eww factor attached to that ring as far as I’m concerned. Besides, with the money these people have, he wouldn’t need to recycle a ring it seems…

  5. e says:

    I wholeheartedly agree about the ring; I hope for Kate’s sake that William will be a better man and husband than was his father.

    As to the cold, dear Jazz, if I had the money, I’d buy you a ticket to Florida, where at the moment, it is neither too hot nor too cold, and the humidity is low.

  6. Mrwriteon says:

    Ah yes, the karma of that ring. Very bad thing. I have, of course, already expressed my distaste for the whole thing. Good girl for getting away for a while, as chilly as it might have been. You’re tough. You can handle it.

  7. Guillaume says:

    I wonder how anyone can stay naked in November, even in bed… Nasty, nasty month.

  8. VioletSky says:

    be glad, very, very glad your cottage is not in Saskatchewan.

  9. Jocelyn says:

    You need to stock the cottage with one of those electric blankets that’s meant to go under the sheet, like an extra mattress pad. Plug it in while you watch your shows, and then leap into warmth!

  10. Jazz says:

    e – Ah. Neither too hot nor too cold. I wanna live in Florida! Do you need an illegal alien maid?

    Ian – I seem to be getting less and less tough the older I get.

    Guillaume – As Ian says, November is the liver of months.

    VioletSky – That sounds very ominious and somewhat frightening.

    Jocelyn – I know. I slept on one of those one. It was divine. It was winter and I was sleeping nekkid. I rarely sleep naked even in summer.

  11. e says:

    Regarding your question, yes, sadly though, I cannot afford one…

Leave a Reply

