Welcome to Sunny California…

Posted: December 22, 2010 in Uncategorized

… where it rains buckets non stop for days. Where the rain, it just. Never. Stops. Ever.

In Palm Springs, the desert, it is sodden.

But.

Does the Jazzer care? No, indeed she does not. It’s a balmy 59 degrees (that’s about 14 in real temperatures), nary a flake or slush puddle to be seen. There’s a Trader Joe’s within 10 minutes driving distance and who knows, with all this rain the ocotillo might bloom in spite of the fact that it’s “winter”. Perhaps. Just for me.

Plus, we had margaritas last night (thank you Trader Joe’s for your choice of tequilas and your decent margarita mix – because we travel in style and always haul along a shaker) I slept like a log, woke up to… well much more rain and lazed in bed for hours.

It was a long day, what with the hours it took to get through “security” (where of course, I won the “search her and find all the illegal bombs she ‘s no doubt concealing in her purse” lottery, and of course got the baggage x-ray person who hadn’t got laid in the last 3 months and was feeling it bad, who mumbled and got pissed off if I asked her to repeat. One word: Bitch)  and customs (where they scanned my boarding pass and called up an image of my suitcase – asking if that was my luggage – which was probably also searched because I’m so fucking obviously a terrorist. It’s insane but quite cool nevertheless).

Oh, and I realized why they do this, they think if they can stop all air travel it will get rid of the terrorists – no more planes to blow up. But I will prevail, because I NEED my California fix, I do. To them I say HA! Do your best. I am your worst nightmare, nothing will stop me. I WILL play tourist. So there.

But I digress. Hugely.

Because of all sorts of circumstances we got to Palm Springs a day earlier than anticipated (long story), so we came to our usual hotel (the one where we’re staying this time had no rooms available yesterday).  The Caliente is a cool tiki inspired 50s motel…

Tiki inspired, as I was saying. Even the room accessories, like this:

That big hole in his nose? it’s for pulling the Kleenex out.

I’m not sure if it’s funny, creepy or sort of gross…

Comments
  1. geogypsy says:

    ROFLMAO!!!!!! Have fun!

  2. pinklea says:

    Hope the Palm Springs rains stop soon. It’s not currently raining to the north of you on the BC coast, but it will. It always does.

    Oh – and I vote for kind of gross.

    • Jazz says:

      No more rain. I’m sitting on the balcony, staring out over a beautiful grapefruit tree (oh, how I want to pick one of those grapefruit) looking at the palm trees etched against the bright blue sky. I’s a happy frog I is.

  3. geewits says:

    No snow for you. Have a holly jolly balmy Christmas! (It was sunny and 80° here yesterday but back in the 50’s and cloudy today.)
    I looks like you will get that sunshine. Forecast is sunny and 66° for tomorrow. Enjoy!

  4. Pearl says:

    My friend Dave has that tissue dispenser. 🙂

    Hmm. Sunny, you say. 66 degrees? I vaguely remember…

    Pearl

  5. VioletSky says:

    Ha, it was a balmy 5C here yesterday. AND we have no snow. (well marginally no snow),
    Have a merry merry time.

  6. Rachel says:

    I vote funny. That made me snort water, after which I required a tissue. Irony, eet is amuse, no?

    • Jazz says:

      Irony it eez very amuse… I sort of vote for funny too. On an adolescent boy level it’s very like picking boogers out of a giant nose…

  7. plume says:

    Rain will stop eventually … hey you are in California after all! Have a good time over there.

  8. mrwriteon says:

    I’d read that it was raining in PS, and thought immediately of you and how thoroughly pissed off you’d be about it. Yet, you are remarkably philosophical, my dear. I’d have expect nothing less of you, of course. Glad you are there safe and sound. And, even if it was pissing down, I’d rather be there than here.

    • Jazz says:

      It only pissed the day we arrived and the next day. All good. Besides we were here for record breaking rains. 2.5 inches on Wednesday – the record was 1.9 in the 30s I believe.

  9. Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a very Happy New year ~ Eddie

  10. Dumdad says:

    Hmmm, not too sure about Mr Kleenex Man!

    Bonne Année!

  11. Jocelyn says:

    I kind of love that you guys go to PS every year…do you rubberneck at old Frank Sinatra houses and such when you’re there?

    The tiki idol is clearly a coke addict, trying to clean up the evidence before he exits the bathroom and heads back out to his table.

    • Jazz says:

      Well, not EVERY year. The last time was… ok, every year or at least we try.

      We haven’t even LOOKED for the star houses. We’re more into the desert and all those mid-century design boutiques…

Leave a Reply

