Well, Buddhism is out…

Posted: January 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

The five precepts of Buddhism:

  1. I undertake the training rule to abstain from taking life
  2. I undertake the training rule to abstain from taking what is not given
  3. I undertake the training rule to abstain from sexual misconduct
  4. I undertake the training rule to abstain from false speech
  5. I undertake the training rule to abstain from fermented drink that causes heedlessness

I like that Buddhism can get by with only five “commandments” and they pretty much cover everything. In fact the first four are covered in Christianity’s 10 commandments – don’t kill (5), no adultery (6), don’t steal (7), don’t lie (8)*.  Humanity being what it is, we all need the same damn rules. The first four? I pretty much live by those rules anyway so no problem.

However, I take exception to the whole number 5 thing (and we ain’t talking perfume here). It’s pretty much a buzzkill for me. No more wine? Done with Mr. Jazz’s evil margaritas? And what do I do with the booze we have on hand?

Looks like 2011 will not be the year I become a Buddhist nun.  I shall continue to live the dissolute life of an agnostic and hope for the best.

 

* As for the others it’s all about doing the god thing and not coveting your neighbor’s stuff, which seems sort of stupid to me as a commandment goes, but what do I know…

 

Comments
  1. ticknart says:

    Wait, wouldn’t #4 hurt storytelling? Aren’t most stories, when spoken, false speech?

    Must ponder that one, too.

  2. Dumdad says:

    Yep, No 5 has scuppered my chances of becoming a Buddhist; Catholic priests drink like fishes so I could become one except for the being married thing.

    Oh well, I shall carry on being a non-believer.

  3. Mr. Jazz says:

    Count me out too…

  4. geewits says:

    Just do like me and create your own personal religion and then keep it to yourself. I do not like to discuss my beliefs because no one agrees with me. But a lot of my Christian friends and family are praying for my poor soul and that can never hurt.

  5. mrwriteon says:

    I would just like a definition of ‘sexual misconduct’. I mean, before I embrace this I would like the terms to be more specific, just in case I am already in violation all over the place.

  6. Guillaume says:

    Buddhism has one genuinely good thing about it: it is technically an atheist religion. However, I was never impressed by it. I don’t care about its puritanism and its beliefs in reincarnation and life outside the material one is of course not sustained by evidence whatsoever, just like the Christian beliefs.

  7. geogypsy says:

    Seems like 4 commandments should cover it for me too.

  8. Jocelyn says:

    Meet you in the bar then to discuss the drawbacks of Buddhism–ah, hell of all religions!

  9. tattytiara says:

    There are a lot of deer around here that would make lousy Buddhists too. Even they leave the fruit laying on the ground that little extra time before they enjoy it.

  10. Rachel says:

    well moderation is a big part of Buddhist living, maybe you can have a LITTLE bit of wine.

    besides, even buddhists dont think theres a god, so theres no one who will PUNISH YOU TO HELL for a little imbibement.

  11. Suldog says:

    Well, see, this is why Christianity is so much more popular in some circles. We not only don’t have any problem with knocking back a tall cold one now and again, we have a guy who thought so highly of it that He changed water into wine 🙂

  12. Gnightgirl says:

    #5 is bad, but they’re pretty strict on #1 too. Hell will freeze over (is there hell in Buddism?) before I cup a wolf spider in my hands, carry it through the building, and set it free in the yard.

Leave a Reply

