Snow Removal in Montreal

Posted: March 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

Dear City of Montreal,

Monday Morning. Snowstorm. Crossing the mountain to get to work. The road is buried under 10 cm of  snow and very slippery.

Where are the snowplows?  Oh! Look, there are two of them right there, clearing the parking lot for the Lake.

Clearing.
A fucking.
Parking lot.

Not even a parking lot where workers leave their cars all day.

Nope . A parking lot that serves people who come to wander around the mountain, drink in the wintry beauty* of the park, maybe snowshoe or skate a little.

Because everyone knows parking lots are WAY more important than driver safety.

And you wonder why people are frustrated and annoyed.  Lets not even touch on the potholes under all that snow and the fact that a few buses have been temporarily rerouted because those potholes are breaking the buses. What chance does a car have?

You are stupid. I hate you.

Irately,

Jazz

*  I don’t get how people can love winter.  Seriously.  Mountains of snow, shoveling, slush, frigid temperatures, the cost of heating a house, what’s to love? Seems the inconvenience outweighs the good stuff by far. But what do I know, I’ve been done with winter since November.

Comments
  1. geogypsy says:

    Why do you stay living in a winter environment? Sounds like it’s time to move on.

    • Jazz says:

      The closest I can get to “warmth” is Vancouver where it rains 300 days out of the year.

      And unfortunately, the US doesn’t give green cards to 50 year old secretaries who want to go live in Palm Springs. Until (and if ever I can afford to) I retire, I’m pretty much stuck here.

  2. e says:

    Jazz,

    You can visit here anytime! Perhaps I should find a Canadian and move so I can keep health care…

  3. pinklea says:

    Hey, hey, come on! Not 300 days of rain in Vancouver! We’ve had about 3 days of snow this winter and maybe 5 sunny days too. We’re sensitive about this stuff out here, so give us credit for other kinds of weather sometimes!

  4. Rachel says:

    “You are stupid. I hate you.”
    Oh, how this made me laugh and laugh.

  5. mrwriteon says:

    I have to agree with Sister Pinklea about the Vancouver weather. I think we actually had 6 days of sun.

  6. geewits says:

    I think it’s weird that we have these British bartenders and they won’t let you guys live here. Are you sure?
    Can you tend bar?

  7. Jocelyn says:

    The key for me is getting out in the stuff and playing–as in, winter sports: snowshoeing, skiing, sledding, drinking snowshoe grog while beached in a snowbank. Somehow, winter sports turn “snow as foe” in to “snow as pal.”

    • Jazz says:

      Been there, done that. Tried it. Winter sports do NOT make it better. Any more than telling someone who hates sweating in the summer heat to go outside and run a couple of miles or lie in the yard building up a tan.

  8. Suldog says:

    I’m with you 100%. Winter sucks. I used to like it, when I was a kid, but now it can go somewhere and die forever.

  9. tattytiara says:

    I live across the street from a school that closed down last year. For most of the winter absolutely nobody went there ever. The city always made sure the parking lot always got plowed the same day it snowed – days and days before the streets got done. The best part, of course, is that they’d do it in the middle of the night so that I’d get to enjoy the full effect of the plow’s orange lights and beeping from the comfort of my bed.

  10. Pearl says:

    Wait — wintry beauty? Hold on a sec while I get a grip over here in Minneapolis, where we’ve seen four solid months of ground cover…

    Every year, I wonder how I manage to hold on for another season of winter, but then every year spring shows up and I think, ‘ohhhh yeah. now i remember!’

    Just a couple more weeks…

    Pearl

    • Jazz says:

      I think Minneapolis’ twin city should be Montreal. And to add insult to injury I have a friend in Denmark (!!!) who just told me they have stuff blooming in the back yard. That’s freaking ridiculous!

  11. Guillaume says:

    I love winter. But the city of Montreal has been unable to deal with it for years. We have maybe the worst blue collars in the world and the most impotent mayor a big city can dread of.

  12. lime says:

    spring is coming soon…i think…

  13. e says:

    So, I just read a lawyer’s website saying that there are sixty options for people wanting to immigrate to Canada…I’ve also read that Canada and other countries won’t take persons like me…they see me roll in and think, $$$$ that I’ll drain coffers for care…well, my doc says I’m otherwise healthy as long as I keep fit and do my stretches…Maybe I should see if this guy’s legit???

Leave a Reply

