In Today’s News…

Posted: June 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

Via here

A new study!  Yay, I like new studies, I do, because then I get to marvel at human stupidity, gullibility, manipulativity (my blog, my words) and the crap our tax dollars sometimes buys.

So yeah, a study.

A study which exposes a possible (!!!) link between cancer and blood pressure meds. Now people taking blood pressure meds will run to their doctors in a panic no doubt. To get that one theoretical pill which doesn’t promote cancer manufactured by that particular pharmaceutical. The pill from the manufacturer who no doubt funded the study. Of course this really scientific study was probably done on 20 people with a history of cancer over 2 years.

Of course, I don’t know any of this for sure, but extrapolating from other studies, it seems about right.

Yesterday’s study was about some new med that reduces breast cancer by 65%. Except it doesn’t because  you have to have a certain type of cancer, the 65% is actually a manipulation of the numbers (always is) and it turns out what the study says is that something like 1 person on 6000 with that type of cancer will be helped by this drug. Oh, and the study was on 100 people and lasted only 3 years because everyone dropped out due to the side effects. Again, I might be extrapolating just a teeny bit.

Stupid media interpretations. It’s enough to make my blood pressure rise, oblige me to take meds and have a cancer kill me.

Now, will someone please give me a couple of  hundred grand and I will establish a link (not even possible, not even probably, but 1oo% certain) between cancer and life.  I will prove that if you are alive you risk getting cancer. I will prove that 100% of people with cancer are alive.

Please insert huge eye roll here.

Oy gevalt!*

*Yiddish; translates as something like “Good Grief” (hello Charlie Brown). No, I’m not Jewish, but I do have a passion for collecting yiddish expressions. Feel free to throw any you know my way!

Comments
  1. geogypsy says:

    What is really needed is a study about pharmaceutical companies getting rich or richer off all the BS meds being sold. Oh no, my blood pressure is on the rise.

  2. emerrube says:

    I was having a similar conversation with my mom this week. It’s totally a marketing ploy and how much the pharmaceutical companies can get out of it. And the smartest thing anyone can do is look up the pros and cons of any medication their doctor suggestions (including vaccinations!) before taking it. Sometimes it’s not worth the risk. I’ve known plenty of people who have to take one thing and then they have to take another thing to counteract the side effects of first thing. So did it really do the job it needed to?

  3. Jeaux says:

    90% of convicted murderers have eaten french fries – the killer vegetable.

  4. Pearl says:

    Your blog posts? Mitzvahs!

    🙂

    Pearl

  5. Rachel says:

    LOL yes. exactly why medical science is a lot of snake oil. When it comes right down to it, no one knows the why of anything. And Im cool with that. I just wish other people would be too.

  6. Jocelyn says:

    I wish they’d do a study on Awesome Cynicism because you’d totally skew their sample.

    I like you.

  7. geewits says:

    I’m like this about polls and surveys. A survey company used to call me on a regular basis for my radio opinions and I could tell which station had hired them. Every song I rated low stopped playing and every song that I loved played more often. I always thought I was A) the only person they called and B) the unpaid station programmer. It was good though, for me, radiowise.
    And political polls? I figure they are polling A) People who do not have caller ID or B) People with caller ID that like to answer calls from strangers. Who wants their opinions, anyway?

    • Jazz says:

      And you know, polls and surveys…I’ve been known to lie to them (pretty much whenever I answer a poll) just because they’re annoying me and the person on the other end of the line sounded so pitiful that in a moment of sheer compassion (those are few and far between) I decided to answer rather than hang up on them.

  8. Big Brother says:

    Damned if you do, damned if you don’t. I figure that my high blood pressure will probably kill me quicker than anything else so what the heck. Since it’s genetic there is really nothing much I can do about it. I’m also not partial to being a veggie because of a stroke, so I’ll keep my meds in spite of the possible link. Makes me laugh when they say there is a let’s say 0.01% greater chance of getting such and such an illness by using (insert your poison here) but don’t tell you that to start off, you have one chance in a million of getting it in the first place. So what is 0.01% of 1/1000000?

    • Jazz says:

      Dude, life is gonna get ya one way or another eventually.

      There’s a study for you! I’ll prove that life kills 100% of its victims.

  9. Choochoo says:

    There was also a study done once with people who slipped and fell on the ice during winter. It turns out, 90% of them drank coffee!

  10. lime says:

    lies, damned lies, and statistics. all a bunch of manipulation.

  11. mrwriteon says:

    I knew I shoulda become wunna them scienticker types so I could get my greedy hands on big fed bucks.
    Blogging does cause cancer, by the way, but it’s a very slow kind.

Leave a Reply

