Really?

Posted: June 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

A little something while we finish off the move. See? There we are, lugging the last of the boxes…

Sorry, I’d link but  I don’t know where I got this from. Some shelter magazine**

C’mon now seriously? A free-standing tub in the middle of a bedroom? Really?

Is it just my big room envy speaking or is this just a really dumb design? I know I’d be forever whacking my shins on the damn thing, nice though it is.

Or perhaps it’s a new trend, the “minimalist bunker vibe”.  I can’t help but think this picture should be on Unhappy Hipsters* or Catalog Living*.

.

.

* And you really should check those out, they’re hysterical.

** Remember when they called them decorating magazines?

Comments
  1. elizabeth says:

    wow! you did it– moved– and yes, holy hell– I am with you on all the STUFF– gack. where is my simple life? and tub in the bedroom–freestanding? please– beyond stupid. xoxo, E

  2. pinklea says:

    Hysterical doesn’t even BEGIN to describe those sites! I’m barely awake on Saturday morning and I’m crying, I’m laughing so hard! Thanks for the links! (too many exclamation points, I know, but they seemed appropriate …)

  3. Rachel says:

    I dont care what all of you say, I like it. It makes more sense to me than the customary arrangement. Bathtubs should be centered in a place of repose, not shuttled into the corner of the place where people shit. My issue with that room though? Too much damn white. COLOR! My kingdom for some color, for crying out loud.

    • Jazz says:

      I like a bath in a bathroom. Of course our bathroom is separate from the toilet – gotta love the concept of the two rooms. I wonder why they stopped doing that…

      • emerrube says:

        yes, I think there should be two rooms for the bathtub and toilet. and yes, color! my house is full of color. can’t say I like the bathtub in the middle of the room. I can’t stand jacuzzi’s in the room either.

  4. Rachel says:

    and also, those sites are hilarious. Thank you!

  5. geogypsy says:

    It’s a slick tub in a lousy location. Give me a great view from it and no bruised shins please.
    Living in an RV one really misses a bathtub.

  6. VioletSky says:

    I’m with Rachel. I hate have a bathtub shoved into a dark corner where i repose looking at a tiled wall that needs scrubbing on one side and a toilet on the other. But it should be angled and off centre so as to minimize the bumping into when sleepwalking.

    • Jazz says:

      I’m not much of a bath person anyway. I had a huge clawfoot tub upstairs and over 20+ years probably took a bath 10 times. I always feel I have to shower after a bath, laying there stewing in my dirt. Showers are so much more efficient.

  7. e says:

    I wondered whether the designer for this space is colour blind, hence the blizzard of white?

    As for the tub, placing it in its own room would have been a nice touch and left the bed space bigger.

  8. geewits says:

    If I hadn’t seen you in person, I’d be wondering what sort of crazy ass shins you would have to have to run them into that tub.
    The one positive to having a tub smack dab in the middle of the bedroom would be, you wouldn’t have to have a humidifier. Or if you were hated your spouse, you could make it drip right before you left to go out of town.
    That Catalog Living is just about the funniest thing I have ever seen.

    • Jazz says:

      OK, ok, maybe the whole shin thing is exaggerated. But I would be bumping into it all the time for sure. And I knew I could count on you to find a good use for the tub in the bedroom.

  9. mrwriteon says:

    I actually knew somebody who had an out-in-the-open toilet in the middle of the master bedroom. Makes a tub seem almost prosaic. The public potty was just a little too creepy.

  10. lime says:

    though i envy the bathtub id put it in an actual bathroom. middle of the bedroom? that’s just bizarre.

  11. Jocelyn says:

    I know a couple of fellas who would use it for middle-of-the-night pee relief. And I know a couple of women who would turn it into a planter, full of the gorgeous splashes of color the White Haters crave.

    Personally, as someone who took her naps in the bathtub as a kid, I’d consider it a day bed.

  12. Pearl says:

    The middle-of-the-room tub is perplexing to me — one thing for sure: you’d have to remember to bring that towel with you because there’s no reaching the towel rack from the tub, is there?!

    Pearl

    • Jazz says:

      There isn’t. And I’d forget it and have to wander around searching for a towel, and being the accident-waiting-to-happen that I am I’d slip, fall down the stairs, end up battered and bruised… but at least I’d have a story to blog about.

Leave a Reply

