My “new” mirror

Posted: July 5, 2011 in Furniture

One good thing about moving “down” is the treasure trove of furniture I kept to refinish – all of which was in dire need of  refinishing. What I’ll do with some of it, I have no idea, get rid of it in some way or other, give it away, sell it.

One thing I will keep is the mirror. It was an ugly ass ornate gold mirror, scruffy, dusty and really sort of bleah. The frame is made of some sort of plastic or extruded foam…  So I had no qualms. Not that I would have, if I don’t like it it’ll be painted or refinished, donated or sent to the trash. End of story. As for the mirror, well, if if looked bad, into the trash it would’ve gone.

Here it is before:

And the gold wasn’t this shiny. Trust me, the light must be too good. At any rate, it was hateful, no gold mirror will ever live in my house.

Here it is primed, it’s looking better already…

And the final product – not on the wall yet, but it will eventually end up somewhere. Cuz, I luvz it now.

Moral of this story: Taking pictures of mirrors sucks and I love spray paint.

Comments
  1. geogypsy says:

    OK, stop sniffing the paint. Looks much like an old mirror my Mom had and she rubbed brown shoe polish on the overly gold finish.

  2. rachel says:

    Ooooooooo. I like it much better than before. You have good taste, my friend. But of course, since you are French.

    • Jazz says:

      I hate to admit it, but it’s Mr. Jazz’s colour choice. I would’ve gone for orange or hot pink, but seeing it this colour, he was definitely right. I love it.

  3. VioletSky says:

    I rather liked the white… but I love the turquoise! The gold just looked so … tacky.

  4. Gnightgirl says:

    Very, very cool. I luvs it too!

  5. alison says:

    I so totally wish my computer would let me see the pictures on your blog. I’m sure the mirror is divine, and happy belated bday, Jazz!

  6. Guillaume says:

    I think it looked like a really nice mirror. Mirror are fascinating things, especially old fashioned ones like this one. What if the image you see is in fact your doppleganger?

  7. e says:

    Wonderful re-do on the colour and I hope you enjoyed your birthday.

  8. geewits says:

    Orange or hot pink? What are you, twelve? Anyway. I am very proud of you for doing a DIY project. Woot woot! My first thought was a a very dull flat black paint to give it an eerie otherworldly feel. But really, I’m very proud of you!

    • Jazz says:

      Twelve? In my head pretty much, yep – as well as in that scab on my knee. I’ve also redone a couple of dressers – back to their mid-century two-toned look, and have started on a desk for Mr. J. I’m a furntiure re-doing whirlwind. It’s nice to actually have space to work in now..

  9. Pearl says:

    I can seez why ya luz it.

    Pearl

  10. Jocelyn says:

    Think how easy it’d be to go back to dyeing your hair if you just used spray paint!

  11. cassie says:

    gorgeous! i love glamorous mirrors like this painted in glossy colors!

  12. Kahli says:

    I love the mirror is so glamorous! Much better than the tacky gold!

    http://designpardeux.com

Leave a Reply

