I know someone wanted to see the bathroom reno…

Posted: July 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

Was it Geewits? Don’t remember, but y’all are gonna see the bathroom reno (for the rest of the apartment you’ll have to wait until I at least have stuff on the walls… yeah, I haven’t totally finished unpacking – and it’s been a month, almost. I’m pathetic that way. And how is this for a long parenthesis?)

So, the bathroom. It was a scary ass room, with the 70s tile all over the place.  See?

Seriously, is that nasty?  Those are paint swatches on the wall, at one point I was thinking grey walls… Here are some more:

Look at those knobs! Lordy how I hated the gold and white knobs. Look at ’em, if of course you haven’t been blinded by the tile…

A close up, to do you in:

That was the bathroom, this is the toilet. MORE TILE! And a ridiculous pegboard cupboard. And the floor tile, my god…. the ooky grouted floor tile…

Things’ve changed. I like it now.  The toilet. There will be an african mask over the toilet where the cupboard used to be. The floor has been changed in both rooms for the tile you see here:

I was hoping for 30s style octogonal tile on the floor, and beadboard on the walls – except for behind the bath. Who knew 30s style octogonal tile was so expensive. And who knew they had put a layer of cement on the walls before adding the 70s tile. It was quicker and much cheaper to just retile the walls as they had been. Besides, I love me my subway tile. This is a ”during”.

And now:

So, the walls ended up yellow, the vanity and cupboard doors in the bathroom stayed because we couldn’t afford o change them out, but changing the hardware helped a lot. The vanity top was changed from the white ew countertop and the sink and faucet were also changed. Once I’m more experienced at painting, I’ll eventually repaint the vanity and cupboards. But for now, I think it’s a huge improvement on that hurl worthy tile.

 

 

 

Comments
  1. geogypsy says:

    Much better after loads of work. I like your new sink.

    • Jazz says:

      Thanks. I love the sink, though it’s very strange to have a sink that high up. First time I brushed my teeth and bent down to spit out the toothpaste, I hit my nose (hard) on the faucet… Yeah, I’m stupid that way.

  2. Rachel says:

    I approve of this reno. It’s a very lovely bathroom. My landlady should hire you because my bathroom is hedious and poorly done.

    • Jazz says:

      Your landlady could hire me to find her the tile and hardware and all, but sure as hell not to do the work. I got that done. Otherwise the room probably would have been scarier than the before.

  3. Jeaux says:

    “It was a scary ass room…” As ass rooms go, that one was pretty scary. The revamp is a total success! Much more conducive to pondering the human condition and other things.

  4. Gnightgirl says:

    Love it, it’s amazing!

  5. mrwriteon says:

    Love your fancy-ass washbasin. Tres jolie, my dear. Such an improvement over what it was.

  6. lime says:

    oh lordy, that 70s era decor gave me a bad flashback to when we bought our place which i described as a “very brady house.” the redo looks terrific though!

    • Jazz says:

      Looking at the pictures I have trouble remembering what it looked like. I think I’ve blocked it for my own mental stability.

  7. geewits says:

    Wow! What a great job. I really love the subway tile. Yeah, that old tile screamed, “Hey! I said HEY! This is someone’s grandma’s house!” Now it is cool, young and hip. Enjoy!

  8. Dumdad says:

    Big improvement!

  9. Pearl says:

    🙂 THe original wall tile? It’s on our bathroom floor!!!

    Pearl

  10. alison says:

    Oooo, for some reason I can see your pictures today. That was some scary bathroom before. You painted it the same colour that I painted *my* scary 1970s bathroom (it was maroon and mushroom before) Shudder.

    • Jazz says:

      I seem to have a fixation on yellow bathrooms. My bathroom upstairs was yellow too. I tried to get away from it but it didn’t work.

  11. emerrube says:

    lookin’ good! when we moved into our house the bathroom was wallpapered in little pink flowers. and a stupid pink bathtub (which, unfortunately, we still have). it’s all browns now…except that stupid bathtub. we tried to paint it. that didn’t work. oh well. someday we’ll get it replaced too. 🙂

    • Jazz says:

      I think wallpaper is coming back into style because after 20-odd years of not having any people have forgotten just how much of a bitch it is to remove. Not pictured in the before pics is the blue and pink flowered border there was at the ceiling – I had already scraped that off.

  12. Jocelyn says:

    I don’t think I can ever go to Pearl’s house. Well, I can go there, but I have to pee in her bedroom because I can’t go into that bathroom.

    Anyhow, what you started with in your bathroom was so awful that ANYTHING would have been an improvement–but look at you, doing more than just “anything.” Subway tile! And that sink! And the fun shower curtain!

    • Jazz says:

      We’ll both have to pee in the bedroom, or if we’re feeling particularly nice, in the kitchen sink. cause the flashbacks that tile would induce!!!!

      Actually the shower curtain was supposed to be a black and white pic of the Brooklyn bridge. But it was $30 for a plastic curtain. I’m just too cheap. And this one was half the price. One day, in a fit of “who cares” I just might get it anyway.

  13. Tanya Brown says:

    You know what’s sad? Your bathroom looked better pre-renovation than mine does now. However, it looks even better now! Well done!

  14. SUPER DUPER IMPROVEMENT! What were they thinking with that tile?

  15. VioletSky says:

    yeah, yeah, it is all gorgeous. can I have your storage cupboard? please?

Leave a Reply

