Ten Minor Obsessions

Posted: November 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

I feel like singing “Miniature disasters and minor catastrophes” (from the KT Tunstall song – what a great line) every time I hear the word “minor”.

Already off topic – picture me rolling my eyes at my newt-like attention span. FOCUS!  Um, yeah, so minor obsessions 10 of them. Lets see how far I can get before zipping off on another tangent.

  • Adele.  Yes, I know, by now the whole universe knows Adele. I should be over it. But no. I love Adele. I want to marry her.

<iframe width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/rYEDA3JcQqw&#8221; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

  • Kim Churchill. The boy’s music is the love child of three of my favourites:  Mumford and Sons, Kelly Joe Phelps and Ray Lamontagne (can you have a three way love child?). How can I not love him, he’s absolutely brilliant. At 20. Damn there are some overachievers out there.  I suddenly feel positively ancient.
  • Montreal’s street art (Check out this Facebook page). I love graffiti art. Not tags. Graffiti art. And I love finding new ones. And how very bizarre, WP won’t let me add a picture… WP, will I have to damn you like I damned Blogger?
  • Clementines. It’s that season again. I could survive on clementines alone.  Oh my darling, oh my darling…. Fortunately, not lost and gone forever, back every year like clockwork. The Moroccan are best.
  • Sofas. Yeah, cause I’m a sofa hunting fool.
  • Painting furniture. I did the desk, a couple of ugly 70s hexagonal end tables (while waiting to find the perfect mid century end tables – another minor obsession. Which my sister did at a thrift store. For $20 each. SCORE!!!! They might need a bit of TLC, but nothing major), a chair or two,  a mirror; next up – a couple more chairs and a coffee table.
  • Rocks. Still and always. They end up in my pockets, and I don’t know quite how. They just do. Really. They just jump in there without any knowledge on my part. It’s freakish.
  • Winter. It’s coming. Actually it’s here. The nasty white crap hit us today. Damn. I can no longer pretend winter will pass us by…
  • Walking Dead.  Great show if you’re into zombies getting shotgun blasts to the face. Though I think it’s not as good as it was last year.  It’s much more centered on  the characters rather than running from the zombies. I’m definitely going to have to download the comic books. There’s an immature teenage geek hiding inside my head. And he seems to be coming to the fore more and more often. I think his name is Barry. He wears glasses. His pants are too short. And if it was 30 years ago, he’d carry a slide rule.  I have no idea why he decided to live in my head.
  • My Kobo. Uh huh, I caved. After my Kindle (in my defense it was a gift, so I didn’t spend a cent on it and thus it doesn’t count) I bought a Kobo. Love my Kindle, but the whole proprietary thing annoys me somewhat, especially since I can’t borrow library books or download from anywhere else than Amazon… Now, I have the best of both worlds. Yay me.

 

GAAAHHHHHHHHHHHH why won’t the Adele video embed! Why?

Comments
  1. pinklea says:

    I was late to the Adele party, but now that I’ve arrived, I want to stay FOREVER! (But you can marry her, I don’t mind.)
    Also, Kindle vs Kobo has been on my mind recently. It used to be that Kindle was the standard, but now I keep hearing good things about Kobo. Any wisdom to share, seeing as how you have both?

  2. Debra says:

    Thanks for the Kim Churchill head’s up. I normally wouldn’t have given him a chance, based on the fact that he is too pretty and he has parents who would name a boy “Kim.”

  3. Dumdad says:

    How out of touch am I – I’ve never heard of most of these “stars”?! But I do have a sofa.

  4. Gaelyn says:

    So what is it about rocks sliding into my pockets? Honestly Park Ranger, I don’t know how they got there.

    • Jazz says:

      My rocks are well behaved, they never jump in from national parks and such. You’d be surprised at how many stones do the jump thing in the middle of a city. It’s crazy.

  5. mrwriteon says:

    I already asked Adele to marry me. She’s thinking about it, but right now she has a sore throat. I think she’s the best thing to happen musically in much too long.

  6. geewits says:

    I never knew anyone else who loved rocks. If you ever come back to Texas or better yet, show up at the beach in N.C. you will go crazy over those beach rocks. You will come up the steps to our cottage from the beach and your shorts will be hanging down madly on each side from the beach rocks in your pockets. I’m also happy you are into painting furniture. It’s fun! Just don’t go insane like a former neighbor of mine that painted her bathtub. That was ridiculous.
    It’s nice that you have separated yourself from your inner immature self. Unfortunately my immature kid is the real me. The “grown up” is my separate person. I guess I would name her Joan.

    • Jazz says:

      I promise I won’t paint my bathtub – nor will I paint everything in the house… As for my inner immature self, we’re good buds, and he seems to be spending more and more time out of the closet. I find myself liking it immensely.

  7. lime says:

    i’d be very glad to have you come paint some furniture for me…

    and rocks? i’m all about pebbles.

    walking dead? my son would be so glad. i’ve not yet gotten the zombie love

  8. Jocelyn says:

    Tee-rific list! I like what I hear of Adele but am thinking it’s time to throw money her direction. Incidentally, your music loves lead me to asking: do you use Pandora and create stations with your favorites? I did that with Mumford and Sons a few weeks ago and discovered all kinds of great new music.

    And Kobo? Where the hell have I been? Never heard of it. Off to learn.

  9. Suldog says:

    Well, yeah, Clementines are superb, but especially so if you’ve got a great comfy couch to laze out on while munching one or two 🙂

Leave a Reply

