Here we go again

Posted: January 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

It’s award season. Oscar is coming out of the closet again… and minor digression here, wasn’t there some award show already? I seem to remember seeing big dresses on the news. What is the difference between last week’s award show and the Oscars? Is Oscar somehow more meaningful? Does it cost much more to buy yourself an award?

However, that is neither here nor there. This is the biggie. The nominees are going to be announced today (or have been already, who knows).

The hype will grow. And grow, and grow yet some more. The nominated movies will take on a new life, despite the fact that after all these months they were languishing at the box office.

Actresses will borrow fuck ugly dresses to wear to the ceremony. The outfits will be picked apart by those in the know for weeks afterwards.

The winning movies will be hyped for weeks afterwards too. Will that make them better movies? Nope, it’ll just make them the movies that got the award because of politics and schmoozing, not because they’re the best.

Can anyone tell me why I should give a shit?

Comments
  1. mrwriteon says:

    Well, if you give a shit, dear, tell me why because I sure as hell don’t? Interesting factoid and I don’t know if it’s still true, but Kim Cattrall once told me (namedrops keep fallin’ from my head) that there is a gender bias in nominations, while only dudes can vote for the male performers, and chicks can only vote for the broads, but both can vote for best picture and best director. All I can say that if the winners actually were reflections of talent I’d be more interested.

  2. Rachel says:

    I haven’t given a shit about awards since that time I got a “thanks for participating” award for playing in the town t-ball league when I was 6.

  3. Gaelyn says:

    Nope. But it seems like you do.

  4. Guillaume says:

    I actually used to love watching the Oscars, don’t ask me why, I was always so outraged at the choices sometimes.

  5. geewits says:

    I am a huge Hollywood/movie buff. I know the histories of actors that died 50 years ago. I sit in the theater and read all the credits. I sometimes tune into Turner Classic Movies between movies I’m not even going to watch just to hear Robert Osborne’s commentary. I guess it’s like anything else: you’re either into it or you’re not. I just saw an ad today for a documentary on Thomas Ince (he died in 1924) and I thought, I HAVE to get that. And if nothing else ever comes of it, I do kick ass at movie trivia.

  6. Suldog says:

    I long ago stopped caring about Oscars. You know why? Because they almost never acknowledge comedies. The only time they do is when some supposed higher ideal is being trumpeted by said comedy. Just being a movie that makes you laugh a lot isn’t considered great art. And that’s just ridiculous.

  7. Jocelyn says:

    I have always loved the Oscars, but, nope, I can’t tell you why you should give a shit. This year’s nominees are particularly predictable, which I hate. I can only hope some of the ladies wear especially atrocious dresses/outfits.

Leave a Reply

