Antiques and such…

Posted: January 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

2012 – the year our apartment becomes an antique. Sort of strange to think our cozy little abode has been around for a century. And in Mr. Jazz’s family for half that time.

So, since I haven’t yet posted the new apartment, though I promised I would, I thought it would be perfect timing. Unfortunately I don’t have pictures from before I emptied it out. It’s come a long, long way from its quasi hoarded days…

Plus, you get to see The Couch in its new environment, oh how I love me The Couch….

The living room:

Did I mention I love my couch? (If you need a cool couch, head over to EQ3 – you were right Violet Sky, we have one in Montreal) And that vintage Danish table my sister gave me. Love it too. The lamps still need work too, but whatever.  And yeah, I know the painting is totally the wrong proportion, but that will be taken care of eventually. Amazing isn’t it all the things you notice when you’re looking critically at a picture? Cause really, when I’m there, I don’t notice it at all. Which is one of the many reasons I’m not a designer. It’s comfy, I’m happy.

And just to prove I’m useless at staging, yeah, that’s a charger on the floor… It’s all in the details and I just don’t have the details.

The other end of the living room.  Long skinny room. Really annoying to furnish. Hi Honey!

The hallway towards the kitchen with my sweetie cooking – or maybe making me a margarita. That’s a really grainy pic, probably taken with the phone.

 

And towards the entrance –  I love the transom window, wish it was stained glass:

Bedroom. I love colour, that duvet cover just makes me happy. Again, the painting needs to be changed out, as do the curtains which used to live in the living room upstairs.

These two walls also need something, but lets face it, I spend most of my time here sleeping, and if I’m staring at something, it tends to be the ceiling in the middle of the night so that’s not terribly high on my list of priorities. For now.

And I love that 30s light fixture which used to be in my mom’s bedroom. She gave it to me when she moved.

The bathroom (though you’ve seen that):

The toilet (another grainy flashless photo – phone again?)

The dining room. This room used to be piled high with old newspapers and magazines and stuffed to the gills with excess furniture. I love the built-in cabinet which became our bar and the vintage 50s mirror, which was on another wall. There are some extra chairs in the second picture left over from a party a couple of weeks ago. Yeah, I’m slow on the cleanup…

And last but not least, the kitchen. Not crazy about the cupboards, but changing out the handles did help a lot. Amazing how many handles are in a kitchen. You just never notice until you have to pay for them. Not crazy about the counter and backsplash tile either, but I’ll get to that eventually… Those black squares are chalkboard stickers. They’re pretty much always covered in quotes and stuff.

Oh, look there are two pineapples in the window beside Homer. It wasn’t winter when this pic was taken. Haven’t had pineapple lately.

There you go Geewits, I might not have posted my trip to Maine from two years ago yet, but you got to see my kitchen.

Comments
  1. VioletSky says:

    I love EQ3 and your couch is lovely.
    Where is the photo of the guest room?

  2. geewits says:

    I love your apartment! Nice colors. I wasn’t crazy about the bold colors in your old apartment. Everything looks chic and elegant. I love the windows. If you want stained glass, you can save a lot of money by just putting one in the transom window over the door. You’d still get the effect. 100 years old? Well it certainly has been kept in great shape. I guess that’s the advantage of your aunt being a hoarder – you can’t damage the floors if they are all covered up with stuff.
    And with such a great new apartment, it must make it tougher to go to the lake cabin.

    • Jazz says:

      Thanks! I was going for grown up. I figure I can get my coulour fix with accessories (like my turquoise mirror). As for the cottage – yeah, it’s true that sometimes I just want to stay in town and pet my couch, but once I’m up there, I’m really happy to be there.

      Now, I just need to start planning the redo of the cottage… 😉

  3. mrwriteon says:

    Speaking as an antique I like your antique digs very much. I could be immensely comfortable there. Homey and inviting. Have me over for tea, OK? And stained glass in the transom window would be just perfect. Love it, my dear. Nice to be able to picture you in chez vous.

    • Jazz says:

      Well technically Ian you have to be 100 to be a bona fide antique, so you’re not there yet, unless you’re very well preserved… You’re welcome to come over for tea anytime. I have tea, I have teapots, there’s even a bunch of teacups left over from before in one of the upper kitchen cabinets – left over from when I just didn’t have the energy to keep purging, ’cause I couldn’t for the life of me see the end of it.

    • Mr. Jazz says:

      Would love to have you over for high noon tea and perhaps even dinner 🙂

  4. pinklea says:

    There’s SO MANY cool things in your place! The floors, the light fixtures, the living room that looks so very much like the living room of the house I grew up in (ah, that sixties décor!). But best of all, it really does look cozy and comfy – a very good place for a cup of tea.

    • Jazz says:

      We’ve been fans of mid-century for years and years. Unfortunately, Mad Men has somewhat stole our thunder… I actually saw some of my vintage glasses on that show… And you’re welcome for tea anytime…

  5. So hiding my blog made me realize that your posts haven’t been showing up in my reader. Not sure why. If the invitaton doesn’t get to you, email me.

    Anyway, cool o see your house. I like the light floors and all the space. Also the couch – very clean-lined.

  6. lime says:

    i don’t care if you followed design rules. you’re happy and comfortable and it has personality, my favorite bits are the stripey bedcover and the mask over the toilet. the mask made me giggle. i think if i were a guy i’d be forced to make faces at it when i did my thing….just because it would amuse me.

  7. ticknart says:

    I’d hate to encounter that mask in my bathroom at any time, day or night. Some people have trouble peeing in front of their pets, I don’t think I’d be able to pee with that mask staring at me. I take it your husband doesn’t have any problems…

  8. Jazz says:

    If ever you come to Montreal, I promise I’ll take it down while you’re here. As for the hubs, I hope he would have told me if he had problems with it. Unless he’s been peeing out the window all these months…

  9. Jocelyn says:

    You have just created in me such pangs for apartment living! I want to go back to that time in my life (maybe Byron and I will revisit it once these small creatures we’re living with right now grow up and go away). Also, I am so with you in how hard it is to make larger paintings/art happen. Those things are expensive…and hard to find something you really like. But worth it when it happens. How about this: hang up some fabric or textile instead of a painting? Glorious tour!

  10. Pearl says:

    Wow!! I absolutely love your place!

    Pearl

  11. Suldog says:

    The mask over the toilet cracks me up. I can’t imagine standing there, taking care of my business, then looking up and NOT laughing.

Leave a Reply

