Who’da Thunk It?

Posted: March 30, 2012 in Uncategorized

Stephen Harper, Canada’s answer to George Bush, our very own Conservative nasty (how we can have voted that government in is beyond me) is going to eliminate that most ridiculous of coins – the penny.

After first going for plastic bills (only the $100 at this point – and that was a great idea too), the penny is finally going. About time we follow Australia in that regard.

The stupid thing costs half again its worth to produce – 1.6 cents. It accumulates at an alarming rate – who doesn’t have pennies lying around in their desks, car, bags, sofa cushions, and really, there isn’t much point to the things and they’re pretty much worthless. Except maybe as a deco item. I saw this really cool penny wall, it kicks ass, check it out here at Bella Nest. I want that.

Granted it’s pretty cool that you can make them shiny again by soaking them in cola, but that’s more frightening than anything else in an Ohmygod-it-bleaches-pennies-and-I’m-drinking-this-shit!?! sort of way.

Cents will still exist virtually, when you pay by credit card or debit (which most people do today anyway), and if you pay cash the amount will be rounded up or down.

But really, the thing that makes my mind bug out today is that the conservatives are actually implementing an idea I’m thrilled with.

I don’t quite know how to deal with that.

Comments
  1. Rachel says:

    OMG that penny wall!!! its absolutely gorgeous. I want it too.

    I wish the US would eliminate the penny too. I never use the little fuckers.

  2. lime says:

    the penny wall is super groovy! i have a great big jar of pennies myself. one day i’ll get around to cashing them in.

  3. VioletSky says:

    So, I open up yours and Ian’s post in two windows at the same time and look what I find.
    I think Timmy’s is going to be getting 160 pennies for every what used-to-be-large-but-is-now-only-medium coffee until my penny jar is empty. (now they only get 10 pennies)

    …and the new $50s are here and they are cool.

  4. mrwriteon says:

    First off, if you are complaining about the Harper govt. Quebec only has itself to blame since you ‘all’ voted for the NDP and left a lot of terrified people in other provinces. But, I do like your twist in that the Harper gang did something that you liked in killing the penny. At the same time, however, the dirty bastards didn’t give even one of those pennies to save the Vancouver Island railway and I’ll never forgive them for that.

    • Jazz says:

      On the other hand, if Quebec hadn’t voted NDP we would have voted Bloc like we usually do, so I don’t think people can say it’s our fault. Our vote generally never counts regarding who will win a federal election, since all we do is decide who the opposition will be. And seriously, voting liberal, with the liberal party as it stands? You gotta be shitting me.

  5. geogypsy2u says:

    Start collecting pennies.

  6. geewits says:

    I would love the penny wall if it didn’t come with the brain-grating whiny music. That was horrible.
    I’m not too crazy about the rounding up/rounding down scenario because a canny merchant can end up raking in a fortune. If you ever saw the movie Office Space you would know that all those pennies add up. (And now I have to go start gluing pennies to my wall.)

    • Jazz says:

      LOL. You can probably make your own without brain grating whiny music. I’m sure you can. As for the merchants, I guess they could make a pretty penny, myself, I rarely pay cash so the cents remain as is.

  7. Suldog says:

    With all due respect, I have to disagree. By eliminating the smaller units of coinage, a government is saying, in effect, “OK, we give up on the concept of fighting inflation. We’re so inept, we have decided to make it impossible to lower costs back to where the penny makes sense.”

    Just my two cents (HAH!)

Leave a Reply

