Ian’s right, we’re all a little obsessive

Posted: April 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

Vacations. Yup vacations are good. As this posts itself through the loveliness that it technology* we’re driving to Michigan, quite thrilled with our decision to road trip it,  as it seems havoc was wreaked again on Air Canada’s schedules yesterday with more likely to come. Plus I can have a water bottle. And moisturizer (moisturizer! – never underestimate the power of moisturizer when you hit 50, nor your new-found ability to repeat yourself from one post to another). But I digress.

Vacations. Good.

It’s just those few days leading up to them that sort of freak me out. Because before I leave, I have to clean. At the very least the sinks and toilets must sparkle.

A while back Ian posted about those little obsessions we all have. I couldn’t think of anything off the top of my head, but last night as I pulled a set of sheets out of the closet I realized that every time I go on vacation (even if I’m just vacationing at the cottage) I have to put freshly laundered sheets on the bed before I go.

Not that I’ll be sleeping in my bed for a couple of weeks. Not that I couldn’t change them when I get home. Nope. None of that.

They need to be changed.   Before.  I.  Go.

Because otherwise the universe will obviously come to a crashing halt. That would not be good for the rest of you. It would be a messy death (see Geewits? I said dead **).

Maybe it hearkens back to the wear-clean-underwear-in-case-you’re-in-an-accident-and-are-rushed-to-the-hospital rule. If I die (said it again!) on vacation, I wouldn’t want anyone thinking I actually sleep in my bed now would I?

I’m a freak.

* As I wrote that I couldn’t help but think of American Gods, which I’m reading right now on a techno-gadget, my Kobo. Or my Kindle? My Kobindle? My Kindobo?

** Yes, I am a poet

Comments
  1. Rachel says:

    HAHA! You’re nuts.

    I’ve been trying to think of anything I do obsessively for the last five minutes.

    I check the amazon listings every week.
    I used to check my okcupid message box every 2 hours before I finally gave up on men and resigned myself to the hopeless landscape of the local dating scene.
    I check my bank account online every other day to make sure I’m not broke yet.
    I carry my writing notebook around with me everyday, even when I am not writing in it.

    Thats all I got.

  2. geogypsy2u says:

    I’m OCD about so many things with no time to right them down because I Have to go read more blog posts, which I’m obsessed about to the point I’m not posting, or packing like I should be to move Monday. Did I also mention I’m a procrastinator?

    Have a great time in Michigoose.

    Won’t it be nice to come home to clean sheets. 😉

  3. geogypsy2u says:

    Oh yea, and when you get over 50, run on sentences are cool too.

  4. VioletSky says:

    I completely agree about the cleaning! It almost ruins my vacation as I am exhausted from thinking about the cleaning and tidying up and what if something happens and someone has to go into my home and find important things (or worse deal with my stuff…) and then there is the actually cleaning and tidying up. Sometimes I forget to breathe…..
    Have a great time. and moisturize, inside and out.

  5. pinklea says:

    You’re SO not alone in this: I also clean thoroughly before I go on vacation, laundry and all. I would find it extremely depressing to come home from a fabulous holiday (probably already miffed that I couldn’t just stay wherever I went to!) to a house that was all dusty and unvacuumed and messy, with a full laundry basket and toilets that needed scrubbing. Yuck!

  6. geewits says:

    I’m with you on the pre-vacaton stuff and somehow you just gave me the idea to have the girl that will be feeding our cat flush the toilets a few times so the water doesn’t get stale.

  7. Dumdad says:

    American Gods – I read this Neil Gaiman novel a month or so ago; my wife found it discarded in her works canteen. I loved it – it was the updated, extended version. I’d never heard of Gaiman before.

  8. mrwriteon says:

    See. told you i was right. And just think of the crisp new sheets you’ll come back to after you’ve ‘done’ Michigan. Hope you’re having a blast and nice weather.

  9. Jocelyn says:

    I respect that you do this but am, myself, usually so tapped out from the packing and carrying ninety-eleventy bags out to the car that I can’t even imagine also having the wherewithal to scrub something or put on new sheets. When we did a home exchange last fall, we were exhausted from the cleaning before we headed out…but it surely was nice to come home to!

  10. alison says:

    1. I love Neil Gaiman. American Gods was very, very good.
    2. I make my bed every day. I may not do the dishes every day or vacuum every week, but dammit, if someone were to wade through the cat fur and dust bunnies to my room, they’d see a nicely made bed and realize that I’m not a total slob after all.

  11. Suldog says:

    You are extremely insane, but that’s OK. I still love you. Actually, I enjoy coming home to a clean house, but, uh, making the beds? Nah.

  12. lime says:

    i like a clean house and clean sheets before we all go away too but mainly because who wants to come home from vacation and have to clean anything. just gives a little more time in being able to bask in relaxation to some small degree.

Leave a Reply

