Hello, my name is Lil and I am an addict.

Posted: June 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

It all started with this:

Such a cool little gadget, bought on vacation,and loaded with music that very evening. Tiny,  wonderful sound, it could be stored pretty much anywhere – in a t-shirt between bra and skin works nicely when there are no available pockets.

Yes, it started so innocently.

A few months later, the itch was back, and this entered the house*:

What a discovery! The MacBook. Pro no less!  Finally, I was a pro at something – or so a girl can dream.

By then, that cute little Apple had wormed its way into my brain.

And along came the iPad. Oh my. Now there’s a lovely gadget.  With an adorable little Apple on it. Everyone loves an Apple. So tasty and sweet and juicy. Nothing bad can come from an Apple, right? An Apple a day, doctor away, and life is wondrous forever more.

Hell, even Adam and Eve wanted an Apple. Got an Apple, chewed an Apple, saw the light and the knowledge and… ok we all know that ended with expulsion from paradise and birthing children in pain, assorted murders and plenty of mayhem, so maybe it’s not the best example, but they acquired knowledge. Of a sort. And fig leaves.

And somehow I acquired this.

Of course it was a gift, so I cannot be held responsible. Indeed I cannot. Nope. Not my fault. At. All. Nothing to do with me really. And I had to use it. So the gift giver didn’t feel bad, you know.

OK, who’m I kidding, I was lusting after the thing. The lust reserved for the Hugh Jackmans (at least in Lime’s case) or Alexander Skarsgards (in the case of the Divine Miss B) of the world. It’s my Precious. Yes I lust after electronics**, not hot guys. I’m nerdy that way.

There was one thing missing, of course. We all know what it is. And yes,  I have caved. I have become one of those people. I have even convinced myself I need it because that way we can tether to the innerwebz at the cottage if need be. Somehow (surprise, surprise!) the need suddenly IS. It’s actaully quite amazing just how quickly I can jump from “cool” to “iWant” to convincing myself that “iNeed”.

Yes, iGot an iPhone.

I have jumped over to the dark side. I am now an official Apple pod person. I have bitten into the Apple and seen the light. Apple’s light is the only light. Speaking of, did you know there’s an app to turn your iPhone camera flash into a flashlight? How cool is that? I’m a total app geek.

Now I’m just hoping I won’t have to birth children in pain. I’m simply too old for that shit.

 

* Sorry about the crappy photos, I take a great photo about once every 300 pics. This was not the day.

**iPod, iPad, iPhone, Kobo, Kindle, my new camera. God I love my toys!

Comments
  1. Lori Stewart says:

    Yes, I am one of *those* people too now. Lord, they were annoying, until they were me.

  2. geogypsy2u says:

    Well Eve, crunch, I may have to try those apples.

    Thinking something in between the giant laptop and droid.

  3. geewits says:

    Wow. You went from way behind me to way ahead of me. I still use an antique flip phone. My husband owns a kindle but I have never used it. I’ve never used one of those music things because I do not want to put things in my ears. But “you people” don’t bother me. When I’m doing my USA Today crossword puzzle in the bar on Fridays, I use you people to look something up if I get stumped. All I have to do is innocently ask, “Could that be used to find out what movie won the Oscar in 1937?” They are so proud to say YES and show me. It’s like I have information slaves. Works for me!

  4. pinklea says:

    YOU got an iPhone?!? YOU?!? I am shocked – you were the last holdout! And suddenly you have more gadgets than I do!

    (But I know you’ll love this one in particular. Just don’t expect it to be as great a phone as it is at everything else. 🙂 )

    • Jazz says:

      Yes, me. I caved. Enough with the Luddite stuff. And phone wise? It beats the hell out of the crap phone I had so it’s all good. I LOVE iMessage!

  5. Suldog says:

    I would say something pithy, but, as you know, I am a semi-luddite. Yes, there’s this computer at work, but at home I am blissfully unaware of anything invented after 1945 or so.

  6. Guillaume says:

    Your post made me discover how brilliant the name “Apple” is for a company. Especially a high tech company.

    And I am also addicted to electronic gadgetry. Which is strange as I am not computer savvy and didn’t have a cell phone until I was 30.

  7. Jazz says:

    I didn’t think of it until at one point I looked at the apple with a bite and thought tree of knowledge. It is pretty damn brillant.

  8. mrwriteon says:

    Luddite that I am I have absolutely none of those things. Just an old cell-phone that sits in my glove compartment. It has no features. Actually, I tell a lie. I have never checked out to see what features it might have,mainly because I don’t care. I have my laptop and I love that. And I’d probably like to get something for when we go traveling, but that’s about it. Call me luddite if you will. Other things get my precioius bodily fluids going, not so much electronics.

    • Jazz says:

      You ARE a luddite, but I love you anyway. For the record, an iPad (or other tablet I guess) is great for travel…

  9. VioletSky says:

    I am thinking your ipod thingy would help me out on my 9 1/2 hour flight next week…

  10. lime says:

    oooooh, you are arousing a certain lust in me that is normally reserved for the ever-delectable hugh. neat toys!

  11. alison says:

    While I do love me a good gadget, I will not lust after electronics while Daniel Craig walks the earth. 🙂

  12. Jocelyn says:

    You may have gone to the dark side, but I’d give anything to join you there. Ahhhh. an iPhone. Jealous here. You me idol.

Leave a Reply

