I sought a pithy title, but i’ve got nothing so you’re stuck with this

Posted: June 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

I’m generally a pants person. They’re practical, warm in winter and don’t require that I wear those half body condoms called stockings.

Except in summer. During the summer months I’m all about skirts, they’re cool and practical and don’t require that I wear those half body condoms called stockings. I imagine you can see the common thread here. It’s all about the condoms.

Nevertheless, I do have a few pairs of pants for summer days where the weather is cool and nasty – the sartorial equivalent of comfort food.  Most of the pants I do own are of the wide legged, linen persuasion. Wearing them to work is like going to work in jammies.

And therein lies the rub. Nobody wants to work in jammies.

To take this logic one step – or even several steps – further, on the days I wear pants to work, I should be allowed to.  Just. Not. Work.

And drink cocktails.
And watch trash TV talk shows.

Sounds good to me.

Comments
  1. Rachel says:

    Only you would write about condoms, booze, and the tyranny of work in less than 300 words. I laughed so hard.

  2. pinklea says:

    I like it. Wear pants to work, but don’t work. Yep, I could totally do that. And drink cocktails. I like that, too.

  3. Dave says:

    I think humanity as a whole would benefit from a policy allowing people to work when they want and drink cocktails when they want. The OCD types could scurry around to their hearts content “getting things done” and we sane ones could sit back and relax and admire their energy. It’s a win win idea i think.

  4. geewits says:

    I never pictured you as the trash TV talk show type. Maybe you are wearing the wrong pants?

  5. Suldog says:

    I think Fridays should be “Wear Your Jammies To Work Day”. Make it national law that everyone must come to work on Friday in what they slept in on Thursday. Special consideration will be given those who sleep in the nude, by providing public jammies at each train station or parking lot (but you have to live with whatever comes up next, so if you’re a guy who gets stuck with a pink teddy, tough luck.)

  6. mrwriteon says:

    I love the look of women in summertime frocks. They evoke an image of an earlier, gentler time.

    • Jazz says:

      Can’t help but think it wasn’t that much gentler. Just seems that way because hindsight isn’t really always 20/20

  7. Jocelyn says:

    The part about not working and drinking and watching crap tv?

    Cemented the fact that we are long-lost lazy, drunkard, idiot sisters.

  8. lime says:

    ya know i never thought of stockings as half-body condoms but since i have always hated them, i gotta gree with ya on that concept.

  9. alison says:

    I work at home on Fridays. I wear jammies on Friday. In the winter, I’ve been known to put my winter coat and boots on over my jammies to drive the girls to school, just so I can work in PJs all day. I’ll have to take that cocktail idea under consideration. 🙂

Leave a Reply

